The Thomas K. Evans Memorial Scholarship is a merit-based, one-time gift for new college entrants pursuing education in science, technology, engineering and math.

The scholarship was founded in 2017 to encourage bright, creative young people to achieve and excel in these important disciplines to change the world for the better.

Named for the creative, generous engineer who founded American Power Systems, Inc., the scholarship awards one local student $5,000 to pursue their education. One scholarship in the amount of $5,000 shall be awarded per year.

The funder(s) of the Thomas K. Evans Memorial Scholarship, at their sole discretion, reserve the right to award more than one scholarship and/or to increase the amount of any scholarship without prior notice of any kind.


2022 winner announcement:

Join us in congratulating Taylor Mayhue of North Scott High School, the 2022 winner of our $5,000 Thomas K. Evans Memorial Scholarship! A National Honor Society member and president of her FFA chapter, Taylor is bound for Iowa State University in the fall where she plans to major in food science. Way to go!

But wait; there’s more! Because we had a record number of bright, accomplished, and motivated applicants this year, American Power Systems pleased to award two additional $2,500 semi-finalist scholarships to Karl Jensen of Scholé Quad Cities and Peyton Sanderson of Pleasant Valley High School. Congratulations!
We are so grateful to our applicants for sharing their stories, achievements and goals with us. The future is bright!


Applicants must meet each of the following requirements to be considered for the scholarship. Applicants who do not meet each of the requirements below will not be considered. To be qualified for the scholarship, an applicant must:

  •  Be a high school junior or senior with an expected 2022 graduation date;
  • Be graduating from a high school whose physical address is located in the Quad-Cities. For the purpose of this scholarship, the Quad-Cities shall be defined as the cities of Bettendorf, Davenport, East Moline, Eldridge, Moline, Pleasant Valley and Rock Island. The school can be public or private.
  • Plan to matriculate into an accredited college program in 2022; and
  • Plan to pursue an education with a major or specific focus in science, technology, engineering and/or math.


Scholarship applications are scored individually by a team of volunteers, who then meet to discuss the applications and their scores. The team then selects the winning student by consensus.
In general, applications are scored based upon the following criteria in order of importance: 1) Serious interest in STEM as evidenced by scholastic achievement and/or involvement in STEM-related activities; 2) Financial inability of the student to pursue education without assistance; and 3) Overall quality of the application package (application form, essay, and letter of reference).

Important dates

  • Application deadline: Noon, Monday, Feb. 28, 2022. Late applications will not be accepted. Please note that all materials, including letters of reference, must be received by this date.
  • Anticipated award notification (UPDATED): Monday, May 9, 2022
  • Award: A check in the full amount of $5,000 will be made payable to the Bursar’s Office at the selected student’s school.



Questions may be e-mailed to


Previous scholarship recipients

2018: Cole Caleo - Rock Island Alleman High School

2019: Joseph Dryoel - United Township High School

2020: Grace Bjustrom - North Scott High School

2021: Brady O'Neil - Davenport West High School

2022: Taylor Mayhue - North Scott High School